So, apparently I’m a speaker…..

Today I talked about human trafficking.  It was in for a inter-agency council.  And if you don’t know what that is that’s ok, I didn’t either, and I’m not 100% sure I do now… It was a group of people from all over East Texas who get together once a month to talk about cool things the company’s they work for are doing.  Or something like that…  There were about 30 people there, most of whom worked with nursing homes, women’s shelters, hospice care, and other helping-people-oriented business’.  I was planning on presenting this talk in April, but a week or two ago I was asked to do it today since the speaker they had planned canceled.  So, I edited a talk on human trafficking I had given at Jefferson High School and stretched it from 10 minutes to 30.  I didn’t think I had enough to talk about, so I prayed that I’d be able to fill the time I was given.  I ended talking for longer than thirty minutes, but thankfully everyone was ok with that.  They actually thought I did a good job.  (Thanks God, and thanks Mom for making me take speech class in junior high even if I hated it…)

I never would have though of myself as a speaker.  I was known as “the quiet one” all growing up, I once completely forgot the words to a song I practiced for when I sang it in my tiny home church of 25 people, I’m better than I used to be, but I still get sooo nervous when I speak in front of people, even a small group of ten, I would let the phone ring ’till it was about to hang up in hopes that someone else would pick it up.  If you don’t know me, I prefer observing to interacting and listening to speaking, it’s easier, I learn more.  But, I have found that if I’m passionate about something I am able to speak about it.  Even if I’m scared.  Before I would talk about horses.  Trust me, you can still get me talking about them for hours, but now days people ask me to talk about missions work and human trafficking.

I think it’s pretty cool that Jesus can take a quiet little girl like me and give her the confidence to speak about topics others can be afraid to talk about.  I believe it when God said “My strength is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Thanks for listening, Anna :)

P.S. if you want me to come speak somewhere about human trafficking or missions work, just let me know I’ll see if I can do it.

P.S. P.S. I’ve put a lot of new pictures on my blog, feel free to look around.

This entry was posted in Human Trafficking, Texas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment Here

