Come to You

I stay outside the gate and wait
for my big burdens to stray away.
I’m way to busy to come and bum
your food that makes my soul so whole.
The days go by, I’m blessed but stressed.
I’m wondering if I’ll make or break
The big life you have planned so grand.

One day I come and sit a bit
I taste the food you give and live
for a moment with rest so blessed
that I recall the way you say
to come to you each day and stay
so full, not empty, for you (It’s true!)
give me plenty when I come to you.

John 6:35  Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.'”

In life we will die without water in a matter of days, but the body can live without food for several weeks. If we believe in Christ we won’t be thirsty, he has taken care of the most immediate and life threatening need completely. But how often do we go hungry?  We go hungry not because he does not provide, but because we simply do not come to eat.

I have had to remember that. There have been many days lately when I wonder where my peace, patience, and strength have gone. They aren’t as visible to me as they have been in times past. When I realize that those are missing I’ve got to make myself sit down and eat of the rest, peace, joy and strength he gives me. I can go a long time without it, but just like when I go a long time without food, I get cranky. Which is silly when all I’ve got to do is simply come to him!

I hope we will come to His table more.
Anna

This entry was posted in Texas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Come to You

  1. In His presence we rest, we rest in His love and peace. We rest in His goodness.

    Like

Comment Here

